What a night we had on Tuesday July 10th at our Paul Harris Awards & Installation Dinner!  Dave Sellers was outstanding as our Master of Ceremonies during an amazing evening of Paul Harris Recognitions, Thank you’s, dinner and the Installation of Susan Goorvich Paley as President, and of our 2018-2019 Board of Directors.


The event was attended by over 50 Rotarians, family members and community members. The Scandinavian Cultural Center hosted the evening in the Nordic Hall.

Mayor Ruthanne Fuller kicked it off by announcing that July 10, 2018 was “Rotary Club of Newton Day” in the City of Newton. An incredible honor!

With the help of Jim Means we remembered Bert Martinson, who passed last September. We THINK he was the oldest living Rotarian.

With help from DG Steven Sager and AG Lilia Weisfeldt, we recognized 4 Paul Harris Fellows from the club (Andrew Willinger, Dick Bowen, Jeff Tucker, and Maureen Grannan,), one Major Donor (Dick Hardaway), awarded Joe De Vito from The Village Bank a "Community Service Paul Harris" and awarded our beloved Anthony J. Bibbo a "Lifetime Achievement Paul Harris". (To learn about Paul Harris visit Rotary.org).

Sharon Stout, filling in for Representative Kay Khan who was held up at the State House doing the people's business, awarded Tony and Joe citations from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts recognizing their outstanding contributions to the City of Newton.

THEN we enjoyed a delicious potluck dinner We asked everyone to "bring something that reflects your cultural heritage, or the one you WISH you belonged to". The variety of food was incredible! Middle eastern, Indian, Greek, Italian, Balkan, and even some Fig Newtons (brought by the Mayor!). It was a real reflection of Rotary “International”.

After dinner our outgoing President Susan Faccenda Peghiny thanked the outgoing board for their service, and presented some thank you gifts. Special recognition went to Harriet Christina Chu and Anna Culmone who will not return to the board next year. In appreciation of her dedication to "Service Above Self", Rae Mintz was awarded the "Spirit of Service" pin. She also granted "Presidential Pardons" for an array of member faux pas during the year. Incoming President Susan Goorvich Paley and the a Board of Directors surprised Sue Peghiny with her very first Paul Harris Award as a thank you for her service as president this past year.

District Governor Steven Sager then installed Susan Paley as the 95th President of the Rotary Club of Newton. Sharon Stout returned to the podium to award a citation to Susan Paley from the Commonwealth as well. Maureen Grannan and Sue Peghiny surprised Susan Paley with a lovely tiara, acknowledging that this was more of a coronation than an installation.

After that bit of fun, Steve installed the 2018-2019 Board of Directors:Andrew WillingerCindy Holle LaughreaDevender GuhaniaRae Mintz, Jack Fucci, Maureen Grannan, David ParkDavid SellersPaul Sullivan, and Susan Faccenda Peghiny.

Finally, Susan Paley closed the night with lovely comments about her hopes and dreams for the club in the coming year. 

As Susan said in her comments, we’re off to a GREAT start!